top of page

Ups and Downs of Writing

This past week has been a little bit up and down in regard to my writing, I have written quite a few articles but too many potential articles have not materialized.

My day usually begins a little before 7am when I check my overnight emails, any news, sports

kintergarten picture

results or anything else that may have happened while I was sleeping. Just before 8am I begin the process of waking my baby son (he will be three soon), this can take anything from instant to ten or more minutes and repeated claims that he does not want to go to school today. School being the kindergarten he attends each day. Eventually he will be up dressed and we can walk the five minutes to his school.

I usually return home around 8.30, eat my breakfast and ready to begin writing by 9. I go to collect my son at 4.30 each afternoon so have less than 8 hours each day to complete my writing assignments, I have tried but it is impossible to write while he is playing in the house as he likes me to be involved with his playing games, something I am happy to do.

Most of my writing this week has again been on travel related articles, and mostly travel within China. It keeps me busy and while I would like to broaden my horizons onto other topics if the current trend for writing these articles is helping to pay the bills then that is OK with me.

On the downside, last week I wrote that I had a busy week writing 20 x 500 word articles for one client, well disappointingly he is not in such a rush to pay me for those articles, two articles I completed this morning for a different client were paid for within an hour of my sending them.

Cycling in the mountains

Another project I bid for was to write a series of articles on cycle routes in the French Alps, I had a positive response from the client that he would send the contract in a few days, a few days later he had decided he no longer needed the articles. No time wasted by me except a little initial research, it seems that some days I spend more time researching and bidding for writing projects than actually writing them.

This week I had two messages from people asking if I could write projects for them, one was positive and now on Monday (today) I am hoping I receive some articles from them. The second one obviously did not read my profile page correctly, wanting articles written in Chinese and even got upset with me for not being able to do this. My profile clearly states I am a native English speaker and not a writer of Chinese. He even asked how I will write articles in Chinese if I don’t speak the language; I reminded him that it was his asking me and not the other way round.

If you have enjoyed reading this article, please leave a comment to let me know, it would be great to hear from you and what you think of my blog. Thanks for reading.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page