top of page

Cancelled Classes and Decision Changes.

This week began just like any other week here in China, Christmas Day I went to work just another normal day. I have been busy pressing on with writing some articles, I had two published this week on one site so received a small sum back in payment. It is slow but a start in the right direction. Another site I have been writing on is very slow to get the written articles past its moderators, I currently have 16 articles waiting to be authorized. In over a week they have only completed the moderating process on another two of my articles.

During this past week several of my classes have been cancelled. It is getting close to exam time

teaching reading

and some teachers choose to use my teaching time for extra revision in other subjects, it happens at the end of each term or semester. On Wednesday afternoon I should have had two classes, the first was cancelled, I went across to the school just before 4pm for my only class of the day, only for that to also be cancelled. Thursday afternoon I should have three classes but only needed to attend two. Also the teacher of one of my Friday classes informed me that she would be taking that class instead. On Friday morning my only remaining class for that week was also cancelled.

On the Friday morning I received a message to say that this was the final week of this term for me and I would not be needed next week or for the rest of this month. Enjoy your holiday and see you

teaching schedule

at the end of February. This is normal procedure at this school, no advance warning of anything. On being given the news that I had finished working for a few weeks I checked online for train availability and headed off to buy a ticket. Soon after, I had returned to my apartment with a train ticket for the next day and called my wife to let her know I would be back on the Saturday afternoon.

I begin organizing myself, making sure I have no food that will spoil while I am away, doing some laundry etc, when I received another message that began -Sorry.

The headmaster had changed his mind. He wanted me to work for one more week. I went back to

Chinese train ticket

the office to get this clarified and then went to get my train ticket cancelled. Whenever I try to cancel a ticket at the local station they say no, it can’t be done. On this occasion I took a Chinese speaking person with me, the ticket was cancelled easily and I will remember that for the next occasion when something like this happens. Then I had to explain this change of events to my wife. She is Chinese, so she is used to the unexpected happening.

Saturday morning I had a few errands to attend to then settled down to begin some writing. I had a three day weekend as the 1st of January is a holiday here and started on my weekends writing projects. During a break from writing and answering some emails and messages on LinkedIn I was chatting to a new acquaintance about writing and the idea came to me about trying to rewrite a book I had written around a decade ago and had not sold very well at all. So in my spare time that is another little project I have. I have several ideas about what I would like to write, just getting the time to get it all written. It seems like I never have enough time to do all that needs to be done.

If you have enjoyed ready this blog post, then, please, leave a comment, I would love to hear from you. If you would like to sign up to receive automatic updates you can do this below, thanks for reading this article.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page