top of page

Writing Once Again


Writing on a computer keyboard

This past week has been an interesting one, at least for me it has. First, on Friday I went back to Yingtan to spend the weekend with my wife and son, my wife was not working that weekend so we were able to have lots of time together. Travelling back on the train I handed my ticket to the attendant for my sleeping car and he was unable to find the card to give back to me in exchange for my ticket. He stood there confused and unsure of what to do for some time before deciding it was not a problem and my ticket was returned to me shortly before the train arrived in Yingtan in the early hours of Saturday morning.

During the weekend I also talked with someone about working at her school over the holiday during the Spring Festival in January and February. It is just a few hours each day, but should mean enough money coming in to not mean any financial difficulties this winter. Whilst waiting for the train to travel back to Wuhan on the Sunday evening a man started talking to me, he was also on his way to Wuhan with a conference to attend the following day. He was mostly interested in whether or not I had visited his home city a few hours away from Yingtan. I know of the city of Jingdezhen, but so far I have not visited there. I have travelled through the city on a train on a few occasions. It is famous for its porcelain and has been a famous centre for the production of ceramics for hundreds of years.

blue and white porcelain

Display of Jingdezhen porcelain

Around two weeks ago I wrote that I was trying to get back into writing and earning some money through my writing, well so far it has been a slow process of filling out applications, writing sample letters and taking tests. Around a week ago I received the first piece of positive news in that a company wanted me for writing hotel reviews, great news, I was very happy to hear this until I was informed that they use You tube and Google for posting all their reviews, both sites are blocked here in China so that offer ended before it had got started. I continued regardless with my applications, some sites will only employ writers from the USA, so they are non-starters but this afternoon I received some more good news and one company wants me to begin writing articles for them. Hopefully in the next few days I will receive positive replies from some of the others that I have applied to.

Santa and a boy

Christmas gifts

Christmas is almost upon us again, a normal working day here, but this weekend I will be attending some events dressed as Santa. Although it is not a recognized holiday here, it is still observed by many. Happy Christmas, I hope you have enjoyed reading this article.

If you have enjoyed ready this blog post, then, please, leave a comment, I would love to hear from you. If you would like to sign up to receive automatic updates you can do this below, thanks for reading this article.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page