top of page

Into a Routine of Writing

This week I have settled into a routine of my life as a writer and living with my family for the next few weeks before returning to Wuhan and teaching at the end of next month. My daily routine is pretty much the same from day to day.

My wife is always the first to get up, she is out of the house before seven each morning as she goes off to work, I am usually awake before she leaves and get up around 7 or 7.15. My routine begins with a coffee and checking my emails, the news and reading about anything interesting that may have occurred overnight.

not my idea of a good breakfast

Around 8am my first major task of the day is to wake my son up and get him off to school, that can take a little while as he would happily stay where he is and not go to school, even though he enjoys the experience once he is there. Once he is finally awake and I have managed to get him dressed we go off to his school, it is about a ten minute walk and on most mornings he is not wanting to walk so that means carrying him. He usually eats his breakfast at school, most days that is rice porridge or noodles. Not my idea of breakfast, Chinese breakfasts are something I have not found palatable.

I will return home, have my own breakfast, another coffee, do whatever chores are required around the house and then settle down to begin my day of writing. I am writing articles on two websites at this present time, so I am either in the process of writing articles or bidding for new ones, sometimes it feels like I spend more time bidding for potential articles than I do on actually writing them, but it is all part of the process.

I have all been busy this past couple of weeks in re-writing a book I finished about a decade ago, it was published in 2009 and to be completely honest it did not sell well, only a handful of copies. So recently I decided to refresh it and try again on a different site, this time as an e-book. I completed it yesterday and am now in the process of getting it back into publication once again and hoping this time it sells a bit better or at least generates some interest.

writing on a laptop

On a good point to end the day, an article I placed a bid on to write was finally accepted today after about three days of negotiations, so I go begin compiling that tomorrow, hopefully getting paid for that by the end of this week, just need a few more to be accepted and keep the article writing ticking over to keep a steady flow of income arriving.

If you have enjoyed reading this article, please leave a comment to let me know, it would be great to hear from you and what you think of my blog. Thanks for reading.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page