top of page

Writing and Technology

This week again has been a busy one, at least busy writing and applying for writing jobs, not so when it comes to actually writing for paid jobs though, not so far, just the slow process of bidding for jobs and waiting. Last Friday I left Wuhan and took a train back to Yingtan and leaving in the morning I had an unusual journey in that I arrived into Yingtan in the daytime, it is a long time since that last happened.

writing on a tablet

writing using a typewriter

It was good to be back with my family. We hadn’t seen each other for about three weeks and my son was particularly happy to see me as he stood with his mother at the railway station waiting for me to arrive. I now have about 2 months of unpaid holiday and have been busy trying to get some extra private work to get me through that period of time. My wife also finished her job last week, she was already paid pitifully low for the hours she does and then her boss expected her to work even more hours with no increase in her salary. It was not fair on her or our son so she quit and is now in the process of looking again.

So for me it is a different location but the same routine of writing, oh, just before I finished in Wuhan my laptop started having problems and so I had to remove some newly installed updates that appeared to be the cause, then I couldn’t get onto Mozilla Firefox. So after trying everything I could think of I uninstalled and then re-installed hoping that would be cure the problem. Eventually normality was restored.

technology in phone apps

A few weeks ago while I was in Xiaogan , I couldn’t help but notice that most of the taxis (the official ones) do not accept cash for payment, everything must be through the phone app or wechat. I guess it is a safety measure if they are no longer carrying large amounts of cash they are no longer a target for thieves, but on the downside to that is anyone that is not up to date with technology and using these apps then taking a taxi is no longer an option.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page