top of page

Writing Online

Before I returned to China in 2010, I used to make a small additional income from writing online. I was able to continue writing online whilst in China, but over the years the opportunity to make enough money became less and less as companies I was writing for either stopped operating or altered their payment structure so that it became a hobby rather than a reliable income.

In recent weeks I have taken steps to begin writing seriously once again. In the past I have usually written for companies and had to rely on whatever writing jobs they had available and bid for those writing jobs. Now I am hoping to return to writing but purely on a freelance basis. I have a lot of experience in writing across a wide range of topics but I will concentrate on the areas I feel I have the most experience in and I am the most knowledgeable about.

So, the next question was what are the topics that I am best suited to writing about and more importantly, which ones are more likely to attract the most interest and result ultimately in more work coming into my laptop. I have a great interest in history, and during my time in China acquired lots of knowledge about Chinese history, sadly that is not a topic likely to raise too much interest. I am working on a long term project, a historical novel based around a battle in the north of today’s China, between two ruling dynasties several centuries ago.

cycling in the mountains

alone on a bike

football or soccer?

Sport, particularly football (soccer) and cycling are two great interests of mine, in my younger days I enjoyed cycle touring, getting out on my bike and challenging myself as I discovered so many places away from the usual tourist traps people find when they go on their annual holiday or vacation. Finding a particular niche that is not currently covered within these sports could be good, but realistically both are quite extensively covered already. Writing blogs, (a little like I am doing here), or guest writing, or writing on other people’s blogs is something I am interested in and I am always open to any offers should they arise.

chicken pot roast

Cooking, my profession for many years was as a chef. I worked mostly in the UK, but also across Europe, in hotels, resorts and restaurants. The food here in China is so different to the style of cooking I used to do. Cooking, whether it be recipes or styles of cooking is also extensively covered already, and I am not sure I am up to date with current trends, so best left to those currently in the know of that industry.

That leads me on to the industry that I am currently working in, Education, or to be more precise, learning a foreign language. The text books I have to use are clearly written by people whose first language is not English, or there is no copy editing, or both. There are so many mistakes throughout each book. But trying to get these books rewritten is almost impossible, due to costs. I have for some time been thinking about teaching online, I have the ideas, just getting the students, so many want to learn, they want to chat online, but as soon as money is involved for learning they lose interest. I have so many ideas as to how and what to write, it is just finding the right people that want to listen (or read) and learn, and ultimately want to pay me for that service.

Thanks for reading.

If you have enjoyed ready this blog post, then, please, leave a comment, I would love to hear from you. If you would like to sign up to receive automatic updates you can do this below, thanks for reading this article.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page