top of page

Exams, Cycling and Steaks.

At the end of last week the students had their mid-term exams so most of my classes were cancelled on the Thursday and Friday. Thursday was an extra unexpected day off for me, Friday I had to attend one class at the end of the morning. I have a class on Friday mornings from 11.40 until 12.20, the students had finished their morning exams by that time so I had to go in and supervise them.

I arrived at the classroom, they were all busily revising for the exams they still had to take that afternoon so rather than teach I allowed them to continue revising. After about ten minutes another teacher arrived, she then said she was assisting them with their revision so I was free to go. I had been prevented from having a four day weekend because of this one class, and I was only needed for ten minutes.

I returned to my apartment and finished packing as I was going back to Jiangxi to see my wife and son for the weekend. I usually catch a local train into Wuchang station; it takes less than half an hour, as opposed to 2 hours plus on the bus and subway. This train is always packed and I usually buy my ticket in advance, so as I got on the train someone was sitting in my seat and tried telling me he had a ticket for that seat. He did have a ticket for that seat but only up to that station, he had bought a ticket to continue his journey into Wuchang, but that was not for that seat, so he eventually removed himself and I was able to sit down.

On the Saturday morning I woke up as my wife was preparing to go to work, because she is working our son goes to school every day. He enjoys going to school and so I took him off to school so he could enjoy his day playing with his friends. I got my bike out and went cycling, the first time I had been cycling for such a long time, it was enjoyable but a little cold as I did not have a hat or gloves, I intend to take these with me the next time I have a weekend with my family.

fixed gear rental bikes

my preferred type of bike

On the Sunday morning, I again took my son to his school, this time we went by bike with him secured to the child seat on a rental bike, these bikes are everywhere in China now, ideal for short journeys. They are not of the quality of the bikes I prefer to ride, no gears and a fixed wheel, I would rather have a choice of gears when riding a bike.

steak

Chinese hot pot

On the Sunday evening, just a few hours before going to catch my train back to Wuhan we went to a steak restaurant for a meal. It was great value, in addition to the steak there was an all you can eat buffet included in the price, with a good selection of food available. They also had a hot pot, the Chinese hot pot is not my favourite meal, but my wife enjoys eating it so she was happy with that while I tucked into a steak. I look forward to going there again on a future visit to Yingtan, my wife and son returned there the following evening, so it must have been good.

If you have enjoyed ready this blog post, then, please, leave a comment, I would love to hear from you. If you would like to sign up to receive automatic updates you can do this below, thanks for reading this article.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page