top of page

Weekend Classes Becoming Popular

I am now into my routine of arriving back in Wuhan on Monday morning, working in that city until Friday afternoon before returning to Yingtan for my weekends. This last weekend was no exception. A slight change in that the train I usually catch was full (at least for sleeping, there were some seats available, but the idea of sitting on a hard seat for seven hours is not too appealing), luckily there is another train on the same route 30 minutes later that had sleeping berths available.

Saturday was mostly a day of leisure, relaxing with my family. We did have one chore to complete late in the morning, we have a new house and are still collecting quotes on the estimated costs of completing the interior, for a couple of hours we were at the new house while measurements were taken and possible ideas given to us. This week we should get the estimated costs involved in completing our house.

hubei province

jiangxi province

chinese 2nd class sleeper car

Saturday evening I had a class, 90 minutes, outside with a group of students mostly aged 11 and 12 and by going outside I am trying to recruit more students into my classes, the intention then is to be in Yingtan permanently and not have to do the weekly trek from Wuhan. This weekend I also had my first Sunday morning class, a smaller class than Saturday evenings and the level of English was also a little lower, but generally it was a good class. Due to taking the two classes outside, this coming weekend I will begin a third class, also on Sunday morning, so my time is now fully booked before noon on Sunday.

On completing my class this Sunday and arriving home and sitting down to relax and drink a coffee, my relaxation was short lived as my wife had been approached by a language school about my working for them, so off we went to see them. It was a new school, and as yet they only have a few students, this language school is looking to the future and asked if I would be interested, possibly not until next year. It remains as a possibility, but if the other school gives me lots of classes it will be difficult to up sticks and change schools. Also as I was finishing my class on Sunday morning, a man introduced himself to me, asking about classes for business English, so plenty of possibilities in the future.

As the National holiday approaches here in China, then travel and especially the trains get really busy, as such I have had to buy my train tickets earlier than normal. I usually buy them on the Monday for the next weekend, for this coming weekend and the National holiday the following week, I had to buy the tickets last week, and even then several trains were already sold out. I have to work in Wuhan on September the 30th; I could not get a ticket back to Yingtan until the 2nd. Every holiday period in China is like this.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page