top of page

One Annual Challenge of Living in China

One of the annual challenges I face while living in China is getting a new visa, or residence permit as it is called. This process should be straightforward and not a problem, but every year it seems that something or other has changed or been updated, little differences that requires a change to the documentation, this in turn leads to added stress of renewing and extending your stay for another year.

picture of a Chinese visa

A few weeks ago I went to the police bureau that deals with this process, in Wuhan it is across the other side of this large city, it takes a large part of your day (or days, in my case this year) getting there and back.

The first stage of the process is getting a letter from the local police in the area where you live to prove you are registered there. A simple process, armed with this letter, all my original documents and photocopies of each I headed off across the city. My documentation was denied on this first occasion because my wife needed a letter from the local police as well. Back to the original local police station, collect the letter, return across the city a few days later and this time all was accepted, come back in 3 weeks to collect your new visa.

One week later and on receiving a phone call to be informed that the visa was denied because my wife is not from that province, as time was now short for renewing in her home province I would be given an extension of one month, to enable us time to travel to my wife’s home province of Guangxi. Yesterday I collected my passport and temporary extension, next week we take a train to Guangxi province and begin the process of applying again. Hopefully this time all goes well.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page